Do Blue Bottletrees Grow from Blue Seeds?

Jay Thomas Dr 1We saw this cheerful and graceful bottletree on Jay Thomas Drive in Chapel Hill.

Its owner told us, “I purchased my tree from Original In Art in Blowing Rock, NC. It is made of rebar that has been bent into curly branches and currently it has mostly green and blue bottles. I’m trying to paint some bottles red and one yellow/gold to use as a Christmas tree. If I can learn the secret of the paint, I’m going to make some Carolina Blue and some white bottles.

On seeing my tree for the first time, one of my friends asked where I got the seeds for the tree and did I use different colored seeds for the different colored bottles.”

LOL!! Yes, if only bottletrees grew from seeds! Thanks, Wynne! We appreciate the story of your beautiful tree!

Jay Thomas Dr 2

Comment

